AYC Announces 2013 President and New Directors to Board

AUSTIN, Texas—(February 13, 2013)—The Austin Young Chamber of Commerce (AYC), Texas’ largest young professional organization, recently announced that Lindsey Tyner will serve as President of the 2013 AYC Board of Directors.. Tyner, President and Creative Director of Alt Creative, has been an AYC member for three years and was most recently Co-Chair of AYC’s FAVE Awards Committee.

“Being a part of the AYC has been a fantastic experience for me, both personally and professionally,” says Lindsey Tyner, 2013 AYC President. “The young professionals who are invested in this organization are truly the next generation of Austin leaders. I am so honored to be a part of the impact they are going to be making on our city.”

AYC also adds six new members to the Board for 2013-2014 who will each begin two-year terms in 2013. Abby Alwan, Andy Cates, John Fleckenstein II, James Nortey, Ashley Teykl and George Ward join eight returning board members this year.

“In 2013, the AYC is focused on actively promoting the growth and evolution of the organization by increasing our value to our members. We’re concentrating on doing so through diversity, increased brand visibility, strategic partnerships, and new or improved programming,” says Melanie Plummer, executive director of the Austin Young Chamber of Commerce.

Board of Directors, 2013:

Lindsey Tyner, President/Chair– Lindsey is the owner and founder of Alt Creative, a philanthropic marketing and web design agency. In addition to her role in providing direction for strategic growth in 2013, she will lead all branding initiatives and oversee the AYC website and digital communications.

John King, Vice President/Chair– John King is the Executive Director for the CleanTX Foundation, a non-profit that focuses on promoting, supporting and encouraging the growth of Central Texas’ advanced energy economy and clean energy eco-system. John will lead several initiatives in 2013 including the inaugural advisory board.

Blake Absher, Past President & Treasurer– Blake is the Vice President, Business Services Officer at BB&T Bank. Blake previously served as the 2012 President and Chair of the Community Committee. Blake will serve on the Executive Committee as Treasurer in 2013 and will focus on finance and development.

Ali Putnam, Secretary & Tailgate Committee Chair- Ali is the Media and Community Relations Manager for Circuit of the Americas, the purpose-built Formula 1 facility. She serves on the Executive Committee as Board Secretary and she chairs the AYC Tailgate, an annual fundraising event at a University of Texas Football game.

Colin Pope, Board Member at Large & Education Chair– Colin is the Editor at the Austin Business Journal. He leads the effort for the AYC Speaker Series, monthly luncheons designed to develop and educate Austin’s young professionals. Past speakers include Mack Brown, University of Texas Men’s Football Coach, Tim McClure, Co-Founder of GSD&M and Clayton Christopher, Founder of Sweet Leaf Tea.

Abby Alwan, Special Event Support- Abby is the Small Business Coordinator for Emma, Inc. overseeing the Texas market. Abby previously served on the AYC FAVE Awards committee. She is a new board member for 2013 and will focus on supporting major annual AYC events such FAVE, Poker tournament, and various new events.

Tommy Belton, AYC FAVE Awards Chair- Tommy chairs the AYC Favorite Austin Ventures and Enterprises (FAVE), an annual awards gala honoring Austin area businesses that cater to young professionals.

A.J. Bingham, Strategic Partnership Development- A.J. serves as a legislative aide and registered lobbyist with McWilliams Governmental Affairs Consultants, a full-service government affairs firm. He will provide support for new strategic partnerships for AYC.

Andy Cates- Public Policy Committee Chair and Imagine Committee Liason- Andy Cates is Associate Counsel for the Texas Association of REALTORS (TAR) where he serves as the lead legal counsel for the largest political action committee in Texas. Andy will work with the Public Policy Committee (formerly the Government Relations Committee) and the Imagine Committee in 2013.

Jonny Rodgers, Ambassadors Committee Chair– Jonny is a Partner Agent at DEN Property Group LLC. He is one of the original founders of AYC and served as President in 2010. Jonny will chair the Ambassadors Committee, which welcomes new members to the AYC through new member happy hours, coffees and networking.

John Fleckenstein II, Leadership Service Committee Chair– John is the Vice President Portfolio Manager at Sunbelt Securities. He is a new board member for 2013 and will serve as the chair of the Leadership Service Committee, which provides opportunities for community service to AYC members.

James Nortey, Public Policy Committee and Energy & Emerging Technology Committee– James is an Associate at Andrews Kurth LLP. His practice includes commercial litigation, administrative law, and energy matters. He is a new board member for 2013 and will be working with the Public Policy Committee (formerly Government Relations Committee) and the Energy & Emerging Technology Committee.

Ashley Teykl, Poker Committee Co-Chair and Special Event Support- Ashley Teykl is a Commercial Business Development Representative for Independence Title. She is a new board member for 2013 and will focus on supporting major annual AYC events such FAVE, Poker tournament, and various new events.

George Ward, Finance and Development Support- George B. Ward practices law at DeLeon & Washburn. His focus is on business litigation, employment matters, commercial transactions, and insurance law. George is a new board member in 2013 and will focus on finance and development for the organization.

Ed Kargbo, 2011 Past President- Ed is the General Manager of Greater Austin Transportation Company (dba Yellow Cab). As Past President, Ed will continue to help AYC grow its membership base and provide support and direction to the board.

Melanie Plummer, Executive Director– Melanie serves as the chief executor for the overall vision and direction of the AYC. She is responsible for the general growth and branding of the organization as well as the management of everyday operations.

About the Austin Young Chamber of Commerce-
The purpose of the Austin Young Chamber of Commerce (AYC) is to develop and connect young professionals in Austin to create business, community and individual success. The AYC believes that our members are the next generation of Austin leaders. That’s why we work hard to provide leadership opportunities, educational programming, and social events to promote personal, professional and community growth.
Find us online:




Leave your thought